Kenya releases list of 130 countries exempted from quarantine

August 21, 2020 / Comments (0)


The government has released a list of 130 States exempted from quarantine on arrival in Kenya. 

Some of the countries include; Uganda, US (except California, Florida and Texas), Russia, Turkey, Poland, Rwanda, Cuba and Australia.

Others are:


The list will be reviewed on a regular basis depending on the circumstances on the ground and after a comprehensive global mapping of the intensity of the disease.

All passengers arriving in the country will be required to produce a PCR based Covid-19 certificate whose test should have been done 96 hours before travel.

Kenya uses PCR tests, which directly detect the presence of an antigen, rather than the presence of the body’s immune response, or antibodies.

Some countries use antibody tests which check the blood by looking for antibodies, which may tell if one had a past infection with the virus that causes Covid-19.

Transport CS James Macharia had earlier said passengers traveling out of the country will be required to abide by Covid-19 requirements of destination countries and before boarding, airline operators are under firm instructions to check compliance.

“Passengers arriving after curfew hours shall be allowed to proceed to their hotels but must have a valid passport and boarding pass,” he said.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *